Happiness

Happiness
I’m convinced that it exists
I’ve only barely hugged its remnants
fell for the feeling that is rumored to be experienced
and if I’ve really come across it,
happiness is not something that you will take from me anymore
I would say you can’t give it to me either but I’d be lying
can’t deny the smile that might run across my face and in my heart but sometimes it seems it can be replaced with disappointment
dissatisfaction
I mean I can control my attitude
my actions
how do I react?
after you make happiness disappear do I sit and mope or do I bring myself to a state of peace?
where does peace come from?
and if you don’t possess peace deep within you how will you find it anywhere? well there is a peace in knowing that change is coming whether you embrace it or not
or are visionary enough to see it before it arrives
change is coming
I change my outlook
use my inlook
I continue to work for positive change as reinforcement and look up to the possibility of it all getting better
I look in to find reassurance
where I feel it will be okay
I know
so I say
do not focus your energy on what does not serve to your benefit
let it make space somewhere else
It does not determine anything for you
it will only arrive if you neglect what is right for you to focus on
your surroundings may not be of you but you create the environment that is within you
it is when you forget this that you become a product of it
and if you blame, you blame because you are not taking responsibility or are uneasy with your decision making
an elder told me not to be afraid to ask for help
help I didn’t realize I needed until I put my situation in a perspective outside of myself
so yes he helped by telling me that
and I will help myself to apply it when needed
happiness is what some say you can only pursue
to an extent I agree
but you must first be content with the truth
I think to find it in its truth you must reach deep inside
find and celebrate the real you
do the same with others
inner peace
a knowledge
create less hate
creates more lovers
lovers of life
lovers of self
lovers of others
an acceptance
possibility
and affirmative action
a happiness
so since that day when you left your words echoed in my head
are you happy? will you be happy?
happy
I should have seen them
those words
I should have understood
peace is inside happiness is its manifestation outwardly
when you come into truth
when unhappy you target the root
don’t confront the product
go to what’s inside you
use it to create more of what is needed
happy
..when you are open to life
so yes I guess there is always good in the seemingly bad
always a happy in the sad
life is transformative
so to answer the question yes I am happy
because I am at peace
because I know where I am
Happy
means I know where I’m going even if I don’t know what it will take to get there
I am happy
grateful for life
Happy..
I’m exploring
but I know I have found peace

Copyright© 2012 Narelle Thomas
All rights reserved.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. readinpleasure
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 16:46:13

    very nice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

